home news room contact us

"It is our vision that the people of the Greater Cederberg region will share in a common purpose – to conserve biodiversity through ensuring the sustainable use of the unique living landscape that they live in."

GCBC planning domain [ view map ]
The Greater Cederberg Biodiversity Corridor planning domain extends from Niewoudtville in the north to Groot-Winterhoek in the south, Eland’s Bay in the west and the Tanqua Karoo National Park in the east. This is an area of approximately 1,8 million ha.

GCBC sub-regions
The GCBC planning domain is divided into five sub-regions. These are:

  • Northern Sandveld
    This broad plain extends from the northern West Coast, between the Berg River and the Wadrif Salt Pan south of Lambert’s Bay, inland to a natural divide formed by the Olifantsberge and the mountains stretching southwards to the edge of the Piketberg.
  • Bokkeveld
    This is the region to the north of the natural divide formed by the Doring River.  The Doring River separates the Bokkeveld and associated mountains from the Cederberg mountain range to the south (see below), but also includes some of the associated northern Karoo plains.
  • Cederberg-Groot Winterhoek
    The Cederberg and Groot Winterhoek mountain ranges form the central mountain chain of the study area, beginning south of the Doring River (see above) and stretching southwards to Tulbagh.
  • Tanqua
    This vast plain and associated mountains occurs to the east of a line between Op de Berg, Wupperthal and Pakhuis Pass, essentially east of the Cederberg mountains.  It includes both the plains of the Tanqua Karoo as well as the Swartruggens mountains in the south.  Geologically the division formed between the Table Mountain Group and the Bokkeveld/Witteberg Groups separates the region.
  • Olifantsberg
    This range forms the major high ground in the west of the area, located between the Cederberg and Northern Sandveld.  In essence it abuts the western side of the N7 National Road, stretching between Het Kruis in the south and the confluence of the Olifants and Doring rivers in the north.